Sunday, February 17, 2019

Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet

3:00pm - 5:00pm
Location: University of Louisville School of Music (Comstock Hall)
Address: 150 West Brandeis Ave, Louisville, KY 40208
Website   | See all: Music

The world famous Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet, which will stop touring after 31 seasons of great music, will come to Louisville one last time as part of the Chamber Music Society of Louisville’s 2018-2019 subscription season. The Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet is composed of five musicians from one of the greatest orchestras of the world, and they bring that orchestra’s exacting and expressive musicianship to chamber music for wind instruments (flute, clarinet, oboe, bassoon, and French horn). Founded in 1988 during the era of legendary conductor Herbert von Karajan, the quintet continues to astonish audiences worldwide with their range of expression, their tonal spectrum, and their conceptual unity. Many listeners and critics agree that the ensemble has succeeded in virtually redefining the sound of the classic wind quintet. Their Louisville program celebrates the diverse range of music written or arranged for this combination of instruments. They will perform music by Mozart arranged for wind quintet, a songful and charming French Romantic work (Paul Taffanel’s Quintet in G), and two important pieces from the middle of the twentieth century: Czech composer Pavel Haas’ Minor Quintet, Op 10 from 1930, and Henri Tomasi’s alternately tart and exuberant Five Sacred and Profane Dances from 1948. The San Francisco Classical Voice observed that “Together, the members of the BPWQ..have lived and explored the tonal and contrapuntal possibilities of the wind quintet to perfection." It’s a fitting epitaph for the conclusion of this great ensemble’s career.

See All Calendar Events